Photo: Andrea Francolini


McConaghy built yachts have yet again secured the most coveted trophies and Rolex timepieces in the 2014 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, most significantly:

  • Bob Oatley’s Reichel/Pugh 100, Wild Oats XI claimed the J.H. Illingworth Trophy and a Rolex timepiece yet again after winning line honours for a record eighth time
  • Roger Hickman’s Farr 43, Wild Rose won the Tattersall’s Cup and a Rolex timepiece for first overall on corrected time
  • Tony Kirby’s Ker 46, Patrice claimed the George Barton Trophy for first in IRC Division 1

In addition to the line honors trophy, Wild Oats XI was awarded the F and J Livingstone trophy for ‘First yacht Due South of Tasman Island’.

Wild Rose also received trophies for first place in IRC Division 4, (the Sir Arthur Warner Trophy), first place in the Combined 20 and 30 Year Veterans Division (the Gordon Marshall Trophy), first place in the 20 Year Veteran Division (the CYCA Trophy)  second place overall in ORCi, and first place in ORCi Division 4 (the TasPorts Trophy).

The 2014 edition of the great race delivered a total of seven first places overall and in divisions for McConaghy built boats in a fleet of 117 highly competitive boats, from just seven yachts in the race from the McConaghy stable. It is a remarkable result, a testament to the dedication of the owners and the skill of the skippers and crews.

The summary of McConaghy Boats success in the Sydney to Hobart race now stands as follows:

  • 3 course record holders
  • 17 overall victories since 1990
  • 74 podium places since 1983
  • 13 overall victories and Rolex time pieces, out of a possible 20 over the past decade

In the 10 Rolex Sydney to Hobart races completed by Wild Oats XI, Bob Oatley’s super maxi has only been beaten to Hobart on two occasions; once by Neville Crichton’s McConaghy built Reichel Pugh 100 Alfa Romeo, and once by Anthony Bell’s Elliott 100 Investec LOYAL.

guy-harvey-spiced-rum-2The McConaghy built Ker 40, St George Midnight Rambler, owned by Ed Psaltis, Bob Thomas and Michael Bencsik was part of the CYCA Gold three-boat team which won the Southern Cross Cup. The final race of the series was the Sydney Hobart. The Southern Cross Cup was awarded to St George Midnight Rambler and her team mates at the Rolex Sydney Hobart presentation in Hobart on New Year’s Day.

Unfortunately for Bill Wild and his crew on Wedgetail they were let down for the second year in a row by rig failure. It was a devastating blow to the Reichel Pugh 55 which was launched by McConaghy Boats as Yendys in 2006. They had sailed a fantastic race and were well placed on corrected time and within hours of the finish on both occasions

Congratulations to the winning owners, skippers and crews of Wild Oats XI, Wild Rose, Patrice, and St George Midnight Rambler, as well as the other McConaghy yachts that competed in this year’s event: Merlin (16th overall IRC and 4th in division 2)  and Helsal 3, and commiserations for the owner and crew of Wedge tail from the whole team at McConaghy Boats.